Local Government > Different Categories of Local Government
Back to top

Different Categories of Local Government

The structure of local government is dealt with in terms of the Municipal Structures Act (No 117 of 1998) which sets out the categories and types of municipalities and provides for elections and other matters. Municipalities may be established in certain categories.

In the 2011 Local Government Elections, 4 277 wards were contested in 8 metropolitan councils, 44 districts and 226 local municipalities.

In 2016 there will be fewer local municipalities as some have been amalgamated.