Back to top

Section 7: Introduction

A Bill of Rights is included in the Constitution to make them law so that people can use them in court to protect themselves.

The Bill of Rights can only be changed by an act passed by:

  • The national assembly, if at least two-thirds (66%) of the members of parliament vote for it and
  • The national council of provinces, if at least 6 provinces vote for it.

(See: Changing or Amending the Constitution)

Section 7 also says the government must respect, protect, promote and fulfill the rights in the Bill of Rights.