South African Constitution > Summary of the Constitution > Chapter 4: Parliament > The National Council of Provinces (NCOP)
Back to top

The National Council of Provinces (NCOP)

The NCOP represents provincial and local government interests in parliament and in the executive. It works with the national assembly to make and pass new laws and to change old laws. The NCOP has 90 members. Each province sends 10 delegates. The 10 delegates are made up of 4 special delegates, including the premier of the province, and 6 permanent delegates. The NCOP elects a chairperson and two deputies.