Back to top

The National Legislature

The national legislature is called parliament. Parliament makes new laws and changes old laws for the whole country. It is made up of the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces. Both of these bodies are responsible for making laws.

Each province also has a legislature called a provincial legislature which makes laws for each province.

The legislatures at national and provincial level are elected by citizens in national and provincial elections every five years.